BaseballGeeks
User: Guest39229
Read Mode: Topics
  BGEEKS Stats ~ Sign-Up As New User ~ Message Areas ~ FAQ

BaseballGeeks.com Home : BaseballGeeks : General Discussion : Reading "Evaluating my Mock Auction Draft? " Thread

Message #288 of 317  *NEW*
To:  All
jcrowley  
Subject:  Evaluating my Mock Auction Draft?
Date:  3/7/09, 2:40pm (Last Edited: 3/7/09, 2:41pm)
Fellow Geeks,

I am a newbie to the whole "Auction style" draft (but I like to think that I'm a better than average player in snake drafts).

Lol.

Anyway, I sat through a MOCK Auction draft on ESPN this morning. Took only 2:15 to complete (I honestly thought it would take 4 hours!)

Anyone care to "evaluate" my draft?

Context:
- 10 man draft
- $260
- about 70% through, 3 Managers dropped out - so it might be hard to tell "value" for last several rounds

#----------player----------$
12 jimmy rollins $33
25 alfonso soriano $22
31 ichiro suzuki $24
36 jonathan papelbon $17
46 brian mccann $17
73 derek jeter $13
85 jacoby ellsbury $14
87 alexei ramirez $14
100 aaron hill $2
102 chris davis $11
103 geovany soto $13
105 torii hunter $13
110 mike aviles $7
112 joey votto $13
131 max scherzer $11
135 adrian beltre $9
148 justin upton $8
166 jason motte $1
170 nelson cruz $2
176 chien-ming wang $4
181 hiroki kuruda $3
186 jered weaver $1
196 manny parra $1
206 wandy rodriguez $1
214 brandon lyon $1

$5 left over...

I think I did mostly OK.

In my snake drafts, I tend to follow the LIMA/RIMA plan and I never "pay" for saves.

My own take:

* Speaking of never paying for Saves... I nominated Papelbon and bid on him with the sole intention of getting some sucker to buy him high. Of course, I ended up with him at $17. I *think* that's a bargain?!?